Berkeley Chamber Performances

martha & monica

"Martha & Monica have had great success pairing masterworks with recent compositions, highlighting the emotional capacity and range of the cello/piano duo."  - Coastal Post Online

November 18, 2008

Equally passionate about art, cuisine, history and music, pianist Hadley McCarroll and cellist Monica Scott formed the duo martha & monica in 2006. With programs chosen for their thematic, geographic or emotional relevance, the pair delight in repertoire as diverse as Brahms and Poulenc to Schumann and Carter. The duo's Berkeley Chamber Performances debut features Beethoven's Sonata Op. 5, Schumann's 5 Stücke im Volkston, and Elliott Carter's 1948 Sonata, performed in this year of Carter's centenary.
[Tickets and Information]

Hadley McCarroll, pianist
Monica Scott, cellist

Cello Sonata No. 1 in F major, Op. 5: Ludwig van Beethoven 
5 stücke im Volkston,  Op. 102: Robert Schumann: 
Sonata for Cello and Piano (1948): Elliot Carter

Click here for music by marth & monica




Copyright © 2017 Berkeley Chamber Performances All rights reserved.